My Visit with Oatmeal Mountain

Oatmeal MountainOn a cold Saturday morning I had the delightful experience of dining with Vasu Manimaran. Vasu is a Registered Dietitian and co-creator of Oatmeal Mountain. More importantly she is friends with my daughter Emily.  Shamelessly, I asked my daughter to arrange an introduction with her. You see, I had been following Vasu’s blog for several months and admired how she teaches nutrition through recipe photography.

We met at the always crowded Egg and I. Once seated, Vasu, naturally decided on Berry Ola Oatmeal.  Vasu dreams of opening the world’s first Oatmeal Mountain (think self-serve oatmeal with hundreds of toppings similar to Yogurt Mountain).

We quickly bonded over our love of oatmeal and food blogging. As dietitians we are trained to give nutritional advice through consultations, but agreed that food blogs may do more to help consumers discover the joy of cooking and eating good food. Vasu is an example of the new generation of dietitians. She is vibrant and plugged into the power of social media.  Her enthusiasm for food and nutrition is contagious. After just one meal with Vasu, I can’t wait to try this vegetarian chili topped with yogurt.

I suggest you take a visit to Oatmeal Mountain if you love recipes that work. Thanks to Vasu  Manimaran that’s just what you’ll  get.

Mary Martin Nordness, MA, RD, LD, CHES

1 Response to “My Visit with Oatmeal Mountain”


  1. 1 oatmealmountain February 28, 2012 at 3:19 pm

    I so enjoyed our time visiting with each other! Can’t wait to try out some of your recipes, will definitely post them when I do. Cheers to oatmeal!


Leave a comment




Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 83 other subscribers

Categories